Welcome to Eastern Bloc Records


Catalog Number: FW163

Label: First Word Records

Format: Vinyl


Release Type: Album

Genre: Hip Hop / Beats, Recommendations,

Availability: In stock



Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

This is a journey into sound. A series of journeys across the globe, in-fact. This time with Don Leisure from Darkhouse Family. Let us tell you a story. Firstly, we first need to answer a question. Who is Shaboo?

It began in Africa. Nasser Barwani was the son of Shabudin. At the age of 15, Nasser (Don's Uncle) left Kenya and hitch-hiked his way to London. Nasser entered the movie business, occasionally finding himself in front of the camera, acting in Bollywood films. It was then that Nasser changed his surname to adopt a screen name - Shaboo.

According to Don, "Shaboo was the most colourful character in my family. I have fond memories of him playing tabla at family parties. When I was about 17, I was on a journey with my Uncle. Whilst Shaboo drove me around, he was playing the steering wheel as if it were a tabla. It was then I nervously asked "do you think, one day, I'd be able to make music too?…". Shaboo was so furious he nearly crashed the car, slamming his hand hard against the wheel. He screamed "OF COURSE YOU WILL!! IT IS IN YOUR BLOOOOOD!!!"…

A week later, inspired by the creative energy of my Uncle, I acquired some music software, and began an all new journey. A journey through the beats…"

Long family car journeys were a constant in Don Leisure's life growing up. "We'd take frequent trips from Wales to London to visit family in the late 80s / early 90s. There I'd mainline into my cousin's record collections, and make full use of the signal radiance to the M4, searching the airwaves for pirate radio stations. However, I wasn't the only one to make use of this. Every trip, my parents would routinely tune their dial into Sunrise Radio - the only Asian radio station around back then.

The soundtrack of these road trips were somewhat unique. Whilst I tried to learn the lyrics to 90s hip hop songs taped off my cousins, my Mum would constantly interrupt, interspersing my boom bap with bonkers Indian radio ads. And here we have the premise of this album. An attempt to recreate this sonic mix, with sounds pulled in from dusty crates and breaks dug from all over the globe."

25 instrumental Hip Hop tracks, linked together in a truly unique style and fashion, this is much more than a beat tape. This is a journey into sound. For real.

Track list:
1 Intro
2 Soufflé
3 Cobra Water
4 Mungo's Groove
5 The Rubaiyat of Leisure
6 Obsidian Eyes
7 Stanis'
8 Relish Interlude
9 Cha Cha Dum Dum
10 Ottoman Bounce
11 Can You Dig That?
12 Tartu Moonshine
13 Dem Bones
14 Mr. Sweet Potato Pie
15 Yesterday for Tomorrow
16 Proper Weirdo
17 Plot Thinner
18 Soul Control Trio
19 Capricorns
20 Jubilee Arts
21 Nougat
22 Morning Dub
23 Thing's Tip Beat
24 Tell Me
25 Outro

Additional Information

Label First Word Records
Format Vinyl
Back to date No

Other Hip Hop / Beats

Other Recommendations