Welcome to Eastern Bloc Records

YPY - 2020

Catalog Number: WTNLP06

Label: Where To Now?

Format: Vinyl

Artist: YPY

Release Type: Album

Genre: Experimental,

Availability: In stock


YPY - 2020

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Koshiro Hino continues his prolific run of jittery rhythmic experiments on this startling link up with the UK's Where To Now? Last seen reworking Washington DC's Wicked Witch as part of YPYYY for EM Records, birdFriend boss Koshiro Hino is back on a solo flex for another smart album outing on the first shots fired from WTN? in 2017. Hino’s vision is fully realised throughout 2020, opening on a title track pitched somewhere between crazed beatdown, fourth world jazz and burned-out no wave. Beatrice Dillon on an improv jam with Don’t DJ and ‘Shake’ Shakir is perhaps the best way to describe it.

From here, Hino dabbles with live techno face melters on the bracing Manse, whilst the appropriately-titled Mass could soundtrack Tetsuo’s thrillingly grotesque denouement in Akira with it’s swelling cluster of synthetic and organic sounds. Soup sidesteps into hi-tech jazz a la BFC, and Hino’s distinct brand of techno continues on the crafty 11-minute DJ tool Ant which recalls some of Laurent Prot’s celebrated IAV excursions. KND reveals the queasy side to YPY, peeling out a rather satisfying, greasy bassline wobble over lolloping live drums before proceedings crumble away in a maelstrom of avant space drone for the album closer.

Side 1.
1. "2020" (8:35)
2. "Manse" (4:23)
3. "Mass" (4:24)
4. "Soup" (6:18)
Side 2
1. "Ant" (11:02)
2. "KND" (4:03)
3. "Ash" (7:29)
YPY - 2020
  • 2020
  • Manse
  • Mass
  • Soup
  • Ant
  • KND
  • Ash

Additional Information

Artist YPY
Label Where To Now?
Format Vinyl
Back to date No

Other Experimental