Welcome to Eastern Bloc Records

RICH MEDINA - Presents Jump'n'Funk CD

Catalog Number: BBE338CCD

Label: BBE

Format: CD


Release Type: Album

Genre: World, Recommendations, Funk / Soul / Jazz / Disco,

Availability: In stock


RICH MEDINA - Presents Jump'n'Funk CD

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Starting life as a small New York event aimed at raising awareness for Fela Kuti's musical message, Rich Medina's Jump N Funk party has now been rocking dancefloors across the globe for over 15 years.

Honouring Fela's contribution to music as well as his political and cultural legacy, Medina has made his events a platform to celebrate Afro-Life across the Black Diaspora. With guests such as Wunmi, the cast of Fela! On Broadway, Asiko and Antibalas providing captivating live performances, Jump N Funk is so much more than a club night. In creating this compilation to represent the spirit of his events, Rich Medina has chosen an eclectic selection of undeniably afro-tinged, unashamedly life-affirming music.

With most tracks either referencing, sampling or inspired by the great man, the record also includes material by Fela himself, as well as son Seun Kuti and long-time band member Tony Allen the inventor of the afrobeat set drum syncopation that is equally as notorious as Fela and his message... The album'sartwork has been lovingly created by Lemi Ghariokwu, the fabled Nigerian artist who designed some of Fela's most iconic covers. From the record's sleeve to the music contained within, Jump N Funk is a cultural artefact with one foot in the past, the other in the future. An echo of Fela's message: a reminder to celebrate, to empower, to progress.

A1: Fela Aníkúlápó Kuti And The Afrika Seventi - Stalemate
A2: Tony Allen Feat. Zaki Ibrahim - Kilode (Wajeed Remix)
A3: River Ocean - Why Can't We Live Together (Sao Benitez Bv Dub)
A4: Seun Kuti & Fela's Egypt 80 - Don't Give That Shit To Me
A5: Akua Allrich - Fire
A6: Asiko Afrobeat Ensemble - Bushman
B1: Atjazz - For Real (2011 Edition) Part 1 (Atjazz Remix)
B2: Rich Medina Feat. Martin Luther & Maimouna - Too Much (Afrostreet Remix)
B3: Wale Oyejide - Olodumare
B4: Antibalas Afrobeat Orchestra - World War Iv (Live At The Jazz Café, London)
B5: Kutiman - Bango Fields
B6: Original Nairobi Afro Band - Soul Makossa (No.1)
C1: Aiff - Mission L'afrique
C2: Tweak - Leroy
C3: Jungle By Night - Termite
C4: Zafari - Addis Ababa
C5: Damn! - African-Scanian Music Continuum Rerouted
C6: Tony Allen - Nina Lowo
C7: Skeletons - Over The Bridge (Afrostreet Remix)
D1: Antibalas Feat. Rich Medina & Afrostreet - Ja Joosh
D2: Mojo Project - Tell Me Why (Koki Solutions Dub)
D3: Seun Kuti & Fela's Egypt 80 - Na Oil
D4: Ruth Tafebe And The Afrorockerz - Wâri
D5: Jacob Malik Ladder - Praise
D6: Aquil - For The People
D7: Sir Victor Uwaifo & His Melody Maestroes - Jungle Beat (Mutaba)

Additional Information

Label BBE
Format CD
Back to date No

You may also be interested in the following product(s)

FELA KUTI & AFRICA 70 - He Miss Road LP

FELA KUTI & AFRICA 70 - He Miss Road LP

FELA KUTI & EGYPT 80 - Beasts Of No Nation LP (incl. Download Code)

FELA KUTI & EGYPT 80 - Beasts Of No Nation LP (incl. Download Code)

VARIOUS - Aloha Got Soul 2 X LP (incl CD) (Pre Order)

VARIOUS - Aloha Got Soul 2 X LP (incl CD) (Pre Order)


Other Funk / Soul / Jazz / Disco

Other World

Other Recommendations